Select to view content in your preferred language

Getting to Know Esri Support: John G.

11-17-2010 04:20 AM
by Anonymous User
Not applicable
0 0 469

An interview with ArcGIS Desktop Support Analyst John G.

Hello, this is Cassandra bringing you the first blog post in a new series called “Getting to Know Esri Support”, where each month, we’ll post a new interview of a different member of Esri Support Services. We hope you enjoy!

For our inaugural interview, we will spend some time with Esri Support Services ArcGIS Desktop Support Analyst John G., who has just completed his first year with us.

Support Services Blog: Hi John, thanks for joining us.John G.: No problem, happy to be here.

SSB: Awesome! So, to better understand the fundamentals of John G., what is your educational background and experience with GIS?John G.: I graduated from California Polytechnic University - Pomona with a Bachelor of Science in Geography - emphasis in GIS. Prior to starting at Esri, I was the sole GIS staff member for a Geotechnical and Environmental Consulting Firm in Sacramento, CA. Besides making maps, I managed the inventory of spatial data and supervised the company's GPS data collection.

SSB: Sounds cool. What brought to Esri and Support Services?John G.: When I got out of school, I was looking for an opportunity to develop well-rounded skills. Working alone certainly gave me the opportunity to learn various tasks (geocoding, printing, symbology, basic analysis, data management, annotation, etc.), but I sometimes felt like I was attempting to re-invent the wheel.