Select to view content in your preferred language

Getting to Know Esri Support: Gaurav N.

01-31-2012 11:23 AM
Labels (1)
MelissaJarman
Esri Contributor
1 0 372
An interview with ArcIMS and ArcGIS Server Analyst, Gaurav N.
To continue our “Getting to Know Esri Support” series, we’ve interviewed a member of the Redlands Server team. Gaurav has traveled far and is now living his dream working for Esri!.Support Services Blog: Welcome Gaurav! Let’s jump right in with finding out a little about how you got into the GIS industry and what brought you to Esri?Gaurav: While I was studying for my bachelor’s degree, I attended a conference on disaster management and learned how GIS is helpful in relief services. I tried to find out ways to enter the industry, did some research and found that Esri is the market leader in GIS. I contacted Esri India and took an ArcGIS Desktop and ArcIMS course. I started working in the GIS industry and later, I got hired at Esri India where I worked as a Technical Support Analyst. After working for 7 years in the GIS industry, I got the opportunity to come to the USA and work as consultant at the Esri Redlands headquarters. I am now working as a full-time Support Services Analyst in the Server Unit. My dream came true, and I even got to meet Jack Dangermond and talk to him in the Esri cafe one day during lunch!SSB: Tell us a little bit about your daily responsibilities as an analyst.Gaurav: I work as a Tier 2 Analyst in the Server Unit where I am responsible for troubleshooting complex problems reported by customers. My expertise is mostly on troubleshooting performance related issues with ArcIMS and the ArcGIS Server products.

Sometimes users call and report their production environment is down and need us to help. We help discover workarounds, if they reach a software limitation, to enable them to continue with their work. Also, we get calls at times for disaster relief where the customer application is down. For example: