Add loading icon to custom widget (like url) in panel

Jump to solution
07-01-2020 09:54 AM
MichaelLev
Occasional Contributor III

I need to add loading icon (gif) to an in-panel Web Appbuilder custom widget, which like "Url Link Button" widget, does not have an explicit html file.

I saw a solution by Robert Scheitlin in this blog in url  

Add loading icon to url button custom widget 

I tried, but it turns that esri/dijit/util/busyIndicator is not available anymore in javascript API 4.15 ...

I saw a 2nd approach by Robert Scheitlin in this blog in url  

Show loading message while the widget is doing operations 

but it does not operate for me either. no errors, but does not work...

perhaps I am missing something...

I'm attaching zip of my widget.js

Help will be greatly appreciated, since I'm new to the subject and got stucked.

2nd question - when I upload a big file to Amazon (e.g. 45 mb), it fails. Maybe it is because the code

setTimeout(lang.hitch(this, function () {
this.isOpening = false;
WidgetManager.getInstance().closeWidget(this);
}), 300);

which I copied but indeed I don't understand it enough. An explanation will be appreciated, even if it has nothing to do with the failure to upload.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
MichaelLev

Dear Robert,

Thaks to your explanations concerning LoadingShelter class, here and in other plaves, I managed to do it, and I want to explain what I did, since my 3d custom widget is in-panel and does not have an explicit html file, so in postCreate I had to place it versus the map (and not versus the widget node), as follows:

postCreate: function () {
this.inherited(arguments);
this.shelter = new LoadingShelter({
hidden: true
});

/* next line is important since widget does not have a nice independent html file */
this.shelter.placeAt(/*this.domNode*/ document.getElementById("main-page"));

this.shelter.startup();
},