Problem with conditional statements for Fuzzy membership in Python

11-26-2016 04:03 AM
HelenGoodchild
New Contributor III

Hi, I'm new to Python, and have been having problems with conditional statements. There are two issues:

1) One of my conditions is that anything <5 = 0. When I do this, anything with a negative number returns as 'no data' instead of 0

2) When the returning value refers back to the input raster, the syntax fails. The statement works in Raster Calculator, but it seems like I should be using different syntax in Python, but can't find any documentation about this.

Variables

inRas1 = arcpy.Raster(r"C:\Data\WorldClim\Minimum\tmin1.tif")

minA = float(5)
minB = float(15)
maxC = float(23)
maxD = float(27)
divA = (minB - minA)
divB = (maxD - maxC)

The full statement is as follows (line breaks for clarity - not in actual script!):

outCon1 = Con((inRas1 > minB) & (inRas1 < maxC),1, 

Con((inRas1 < minA) & (inRas1 > maxD),0, 

Con((inRas1 > minA) & (inRas1 < minB),(inRas1 – minA)/divA, 

Con((inRas1 > maxC) & (inRas1 < maxD),(maxD - inRas1)/divB))))

I simplified it to this and it worked:

outCon1 = Con((inRas1 > minB) & (inRas1 < maxC),(minA/divA))

However, when I expanded it out to this, it didn't:

outCon1 = Con((inRas1 > minB) & (inRas1 < maxC),(inRas1 – minA)/divA)

So, am I better off doing this as an IF statement? 

Alternatively, do you know a better way of carrying out a trapezoidal membership function? The built in fuzzy tools seem to have everything but this!

Thanks in advance!

0 Kudos
6 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

..... maxD - inRas1  

I don't think you can subtract a raster from a number, you are going to have switch it up ( inRas1*-1 + maxD)

can't test, but mixing rasters with scalers would have an order of presedence or you could convert your scalers to constant rasters

Raster—Help | ArcGIS for Desktop 

Create Constant Raster—Help | ArcGIS for Desktop 

HelenGoodchild
New Contributor III