XY to Line OID Error (Error 000072), help?

Jump to solution
10-27-2021 10:51 AM
dzsiegel
New Contributor II

Hello,

I am working to create a set of Geodesic lines from a CSV file, however after using the XY to Line tool, I receive only two vastly incorrect lines, and several warnings ("Warning 000072: Cannot process feature with OID -1")

I've also tried to run the repair geometry tool suggested at the link for Error 000072, however, I haven't had any luck with that. 

Any help is appreciated as I am a novice with ArcGIS.

Thanks!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
JoeBorgione
MVP Emeritus

It works for me...

I made sure that the Lat Long data in the excel worksheet were numeric in type before converting it to a table.

JoeBorgione_0-1635360935065.png

That should just about do it....

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
9 Replies
JoeBorgione
MVP Emeritus

I suggest you perform a table to table to convert your csv file into a file geodatabase table and then try it again.  You might also try first saving the csv to an excel worksheet and then apply excel to table converting it into a file geodatabase table.  I don't have a ton of faith in either csv or excel; I prefer a real-live database table on which to apply geoprocessing tools.

0 Kudos
dzsiegel
New Contributor II

Hi Joe,

Thanks for your suggestion. After trying to convert from CSV to GDB and XLSX to GDB, and then applying the XY to Line tool, I still got the same error (000072), although slightly different. Instead of "Cannot process feature with OID -1" I got the error "Cannot process feature with OID 1," "Cannot process feature with OID 2," and so on.

This project is essentially me pulling historical movement data of people out of oral histories, so I have the freedom to choose how I input data, whether CSV, XLS, or otherwise, and I chose CSV since I figured it would be fairly hassle free. GeoJSON posed no issues importing to feature, but I wanted to cut out the GeoJSON coding step.