Spatial Join 2 Spatially Joined Feature Classes

Jump to solution
07-21-2021 08:05 AM
Sue
by
New Contributor

Hi,

Relative newbie here. I have 2 spatially joined feature layers:

One based on census sub division (CSD) to recruitment territories (defined in-house based on a handful of cities in each recruitment territory). I called it CSD_RT_SJ.

The other is based on a bunch of new cities I geocoded and spatially joined to CSD (CSD_City_SJ).

I want ArcGIS desktop to spatially join CSD_RT_SJ & CSD_City_SJ and assign the recruitment territory to the additional cities based on CSD. I will then dissolve on territory for a map of cities bounded by recruitment territory. I would also like to export the data for a comprehensive list of cities and their territory for other data analysis.

I've tried a number of SJ combinations but they just result in a confusing mess of data with multiple X,Y & shape columns.

Any assistance the community can provide would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Sue

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
curtvprice
MVP Esteemed Contributor
Now that you have all the join fields you can add an attribute join from CSD polygons to your points by CSD identifier and then run the dissolve by territory - this is a one to many match but you said all CSDs have only one territory so it won't matter which one you match to.

Again messing with the field map in the spatial join tool can make this work easier by deleting fields you don't need from the output.

View solution in original post

7 Replies
curtvprice
MVP Esteemed Contributor

Are the CSD features polygons? The key thing here is to figure out what the output you want looks like - what are the unique rows? What fields or counts do you want? ArcMap or Pro?