Select/Delete Polygons that are surrounded by other Polygons

Jump to solution
08-30-2013 10:28 AM
JessicaGormont
New Contributor II
We are trying to convert our Address Annotation Feature Class into a Shapefile. I was able to use the "Feature to Polygon" tool in order to do this conversion, but it filled in all the holes in the numbers with additional polygons (please see attached photo for example). I need to select and delete all these additional polygons as efficiently as possible; since there are over 100k features, it would take WAY too long to do it by hand.

Is there a way to select all the polygons that are completely surrounded by other polygons within the same shapefile?

Additional notes: There are all sorts of font sizes in the Anno, so I can't just select the additional polygons by area. Also, I am not a programmer, so if you give me code, please also tell me how to use it. Thanks!!!
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
DarrenWiens2
MVP Honored Contributor
1.) Make a universe polygon (covering all of your annotations)
2.) Erase, or Union-Select-Delete, to get everything not an annotation
3.) Select the polygons in the annotation that touch the boundary of the "not annotation" layer (Select By Location)
4.) Switch the selection
5.) Delete the donut holes

View solution in original post

12 Replies
JimCousins
MVP Regular Contributor
what about 2 copies of the source (different names). Then use the Select by Location tool to select features from PolygonLayer1 source layer PolygonLayer2 and set the spatial selection method to "are completely within the source layer feature". Tinker with the search distance as necessary.
Regards,
Jim
0 Kudos
JessicaGormont
New Contributor II
I tried that method. The problem is that all the polygons, including the numbers, are the exact same shape when you do that. This means that they are all considered "within" the other polygons. So all the polygons get selected, rather than just the additional polys.
0 Kudos
TimWitt