Problem while Geoprocessing (Intersecting) large amount on data in Arcpro and Arcmap.

Jump to solution
01-26-2018 06:34 AM
chiranjeevijanjanam
New Contributor II

Hi,

I am doing my Master thesis with GIS Data where I have to churn a large amount of data, I have more than 2 million rows, which I must intersect with another map to get the common attribute table which I use in other software to get the required results, but processing itself is taking hours, yesterday I started it on ArcMap and it ran for 18 hours but just said "drawing features 36,000" at which point I thought it would take months to complete the operation and installed pro as i saw this thread.Dissolving Large Data 

But still the problem is persisting and I ran into a problem again, I waited for 3 hours at which point Pro returned an error and started processing again, can you guys say how to go through this large data intersect.

0 Kudos
21 Replies
chiranjeevijanjanam
New Contributor II

Thank you, Ken.

.....data removed....

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

Some suggestions.

create a featureclass from the shapefile will improve things (assume it should be in the same geodatabase)

prior to doing any intersections, make sure that you have made the  featureclass with the join permanent (ie a new featureclass)

limit your area of interest prior to doing any intersection.  In other words are there areas in both files that you know won't intersect? you want to remove having to check geometries against geometries that won't participate in an intersection at all.  This could be simplified by doing a select by spatial location to limit to only the overlapping areas.

chiranjeevijanjanam
New Contributor II

Thank you worked for me now, it worked in Arcpro and pairwise intersect took just less than 2 minutes, and normal intersect took around 15 minutes, after following all your steps carefully it worked pretty good, checked 3-4 times all your suggestions and followed them.

0 Kudos
JoshuaBixby