point distance/near analysis units?

04-08-2013 11:57 AM
ChrisJ
by
New Contributor III
hi all, have been learning lots here, will have more Qs for sure too...

I'm running both point_distance and generate_near_table on a couple of point layers.  I often specify a search radius of say 1 or 3km, which is easily set, and sometimes I don't set a search radius and take everything back I can get.  either way, the distance columns in the resultant dbfs are in what I think decimal degrees distance; how can I get back a km distance value?  I don't see an option in either dialogue for specifying units, but, I'm a bit new to this.

thanks very much,

cj
0 Kudos
6 Replies
JoelCalhoun
New Contributor III
This is and excerpt from the help for Generate Near Table:

�?�The distances calculated by this tool are in the unit of the coordinate system of the input features. If your input is in a geographic coordinate system and you want output distances to be measured in a linear unit (as opposed to decimal degrees), you must first project your input to a projected coordinate system using the Project tool. For best results, use an equidistant projection or a projection intended for your study area (UTM, for example).
0 Kudos
ChrisJ
by
New Contributor III
thanks for the info stringtheory, I see what you mean.  now, I'm new to arc9.3; if I want a map of all of canada or the US to suit this linear unit measurement I'm after, whereabouts would I change it: right-click 'layers' > properties somewhere?  or need I go into the properties for each individual layer for my .mxd and change it there?  if it's the latter, I only see a 'set data source' under the projection information (to change the source file for a given layer), but nothing that says 'change projection' or anything?  obviously I'm a complete novice here, any layman's terms are appreciated...

thanks all,

cj
0 Kudos
EricRice
Esri Regular Contributor
Chris,