Joins take too long in Model Builder

11-10-2012 06:09 PM
JohnByers
New Contributor
Hi all,

I'm trying to write a script that automates a join and then does some reporting.

I'm not very experienced with joins and I'm running into a problem.
When I do a join manually (right clicking the shapefile and specifying the join) it does the join seemingly automatically.
However, when I try and do a "Join Field" in ModelBuilder it takes a really long time. Minutes.

Is there a different method of automating a join using python or Model Builder that runs faster?

Thanks for any help.
1 Reply
RichardFairhurst
MVP Honored Contributor
Hi all,

I'm trying to write a script that automates a join and then does some reporting.

I'm not very experienced with joins and I'm running into a problem.
When I do a join manually (right clicking the shapefile and specifying the join) it does the join seemingly automatically.
However, when I try and do a "Join Field" in ModelBuilder it takes a really long time. Minutes.

Is there a different method of automating a join using python or Model Builder that runs faster?

Thanks for any help.

You don't want to use the Join Field tool to replicate what you are doing in ArcMap, because that tool actually physically modifies your input layer to include the fields and data in that single feature class, which is why it takes so long.  But that is not what you are doing when you right click on a layer and Join it to another layer in ArcMap, because that join is set up as a layer in memory, not phyically stored in a database.  That is why it is very fast to set up.