Field Calculator VBA ArcGIS 9.3 - how to replace the last three characters of a string?

Jump to solution
09-22-2014 08:32 AM
StephenDrew1
New Contributor III

Hello, I'm a newbie to VBA Script, so any of the below script could be wrong. I'm trying to use Field Calculator to replace any "_10" at the end of a filename (i.e. an entry in a field, in an attribute table) with "_11". Could anyone help me please? Many thanks in advance! sdrew1

Pre-logic VBA Script Code

Dim MyStr as string

Dim strLen as integer

strLen = Len([FILENAME])

If Right([FILENAME],3) = "_10" Then

MyStr = Left([FILENAME], strLen-3)) & "_11"

Else

MyStr = [FILENAME]

End if

Filename =

MyStr

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
PeteCrosier
Occasional Contributor III

I think 9.3 should support Python if you run the Field Calculator geoprocessing tool, otherwise for VBA this should work:

Dim length

Dim result

length = Len([Filename])

If length > 2 Then

result = Left([Filename], length - 3) & Replace(Right([Filename], 3), "_10", "_11")

Else

result = [Filename]

End If

---

Filename =

result

View solution in original post

14 Replies
TMgapinski
New Contributor

you'd have to give me more information, have you tried cut and paste?! Repeat the string?

0 Kudos
StephenDrew1
New Contributor III

There are a lot of them in the database. E.g. the FileName field is populated with record entries such as "New_Town_Planning_Project_10" and I want to make all the thousends of records entries be "New_Town_Planning_Project_11".

0 Kudos
KenBuja
MVP Esteemed Contributor

You shouldn't declare the variables as a type. Try

Dim MyStr

Dim strLen

0 Kudos
StephenDrew1
New Contributor III

Thanks Ken, for the help. It sadly still doesn't work (I get an error message that sayd 'Error Running VBA code: User interrupt.'). If you or anyone has any other ideas I would be a very grateful recipient! Steve

0 Kudos
PeteCrosier

How about a Python one-liner?