custom .Net geoprocessing tool output is not chaining in modelbuilder

09-02-2011 08:29 AM
BenNadler
Esri Contributor
I have a "simple" custom .net geoprocessing tool that accepts a polygon feature class as an input and modifies the feature geometry.  I am shooting for something like the "repair geometry" tool that makes edits to the input FC

The tool executes when run independently. When added to model builder, the output from this tool validates but is not a valid input for other tools when chained together

This is my first attempt at Building geoprocessing tool in .NET, so pretty much any help is appreciated
I used the calculate area and convexHull GPtool examples as a starting point

I am not sure where the error is with the parameter definition or in the execute sub not returning something

Any help is appreciated, complete Code is attached..
0 Kudos
4 Replies
ScottMurray
New Contributor
Ben

The update of the output parameter value is incorrect. I would first try just deleting the following code. Implement IGPFunction2 instead of IGPFunction. You do not need to implement any code in UpdateParameters and UpdateMessages, the schema.clonedependency = true should update the output correctly.

' Get the output parameter
                Dim output_parameter As IGPParameter3 = CType(paramvalues.Element(1), IGPParameter3)

' Unpack the output parameter value..
                'This ensures you get the value either form the DataElement or MdVariable (modelbuilder)

Dim outputValue As IGPValue = m_GPUtilities.UnpackGPValue(output_parameter)

'set output to modified input to enable output validation for modelbuilde?
                outputValue = parameterValue
                m_GPUtilities.PackGPValue(outputValue, inputFeatureClass)

If that does not work, do the following. This updates the output parameter with the input value.

' Get the output parameter
                Dim output_parameter As IGPParameter3 = CType(paramvalues.Element(1), IGPParameter3)