Convert point feature class to square polygon (points represent NE corner)

04-20-2016 03:04 PM
SusanWinchell-Sweeney
New Contributor III

I have a point feature class in which each point represents the NE (Upper Left) corner of a 5' x 5' excavation unit across an archaeological site (the units are not contiguous).  I would like to generate a polygon feature of the 5' x 5' units (in other words, create the other 3 corners - LL, LR and UR and connect them with a closed line and convert to a polygon - (or directly create a polygon feature class if that's possible). Are there existing tools that I can use to do this, or a script that can be modified? I am not a programmer ;-(...I am using ArcGIS Desktop with an Advanced license.

Thanks so much!

Susan

0 Kudos
9 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

sorry... I think in code... there are options here , you are effectively producing a square buffer, except you are offsetting the focus point from the center to the NE corner ... sooo you will have to make some changes to the code.

Hello everybody I need some help about python scripting to create a square buffer around points feat...

AbdullahAnter
Occasional Contributor III

there is so easy way to do that, but I want to now your spatial reference, and unit

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

Abdullah

all she needs to do is change the following lines, using a projected featureclass or shapefile.  Specify the width and height

width = 100.0     # width of the output rectangle  in meters
height = 100.0   # height of the output rectangle
hX     =  50.0    # this can be +ve or -ve depending which corner you want to point to be focussed on
hY     = -50.0   # this is for Y  (50, -50) for hX and hY will place the origin point in the upper left

# output change this obviously

fc_out = r'D:\Xander\EPM\Datos pruebas\gdb\datos erase.gdb\rectangles3'

and modify the values here