Consolidating points in a 50 meter radius

10-13-2011 09:52 AM
AndrewLawrence
New Contributor
I am trying to consolidate any points that fall within a fifty meter radius of another plot, combining the data into single point that covers the 50 meter area. Would anyone have any suggestions on how I could do this? Thanks!
0 Kudos
9 Replies
DarrenWiens2
MVP Honored Contributor
Can you expand on your question? Do you want one point in the end, or literally a polygon that covers the 50m area. Also, what happens if there are 3 points in a row, each 30m apart?
0 Kudos
AndrewLawrence
New Contributor
Thanks for your reply! Sorry about the poorly worded question, I'm a little new at GIS, so I'll try and make more sense out of this one... I have a series of aerial survey sites represented by points. Each of the points indicates the number of disease damaged trees counted in a roughly 50 meter radius, although it doesn't end up being exact, so some points are only sepearate by a few meters. These trees contained in the point are going to be put out for contract to be removed. I'd like to try and thin out the number of points that will be on the contract maps by consolidating the data in the points that are close together into a single point that represents all the points that might have been in each 50 meter radius of the original data
0 Kudos
AndrewLawrence
New Contributor
...sorry, guess I didn't really answer the question. I'd still like a series of points, just less of them by consolidating any ones less then fifty meters apart into less points
0 Kudos
DarrenWiens2
MVP Honored Contributor
If your data is fairly simple (like attached), you can use a Spatial Join. Use the tool in the toolbox, not from the ArcMap menu.

Target Features = points at the middle of each cluster
Join Features = count data
Join Operation = JOIN_ONE_TO_ONE
*** Right-click the column that holds your count data, change merge rule to SUM ***
Match Option = Intersect
Search Radius = 50m
0 Kudos
DanLee