Composite Geocode Blues

03-06-2015 12:38 PM
KevinLaughlin
New Contributor III

I'm fairly new to geocoding. I'm familiar with the concept, I've just never really had to attempt it in my professional career.

That having been said...

I have created several locators based off of the different types - dual ranges, city and state, single house, etc and complied them into a composite address locator. I have then published this as a geocode service on ArcGIS Server and have loaded it as my only geocoding utility in ArcGIS Online. I have several web applications in which I would like to use it.

However, certain functions do not seem to work. I can do a full address search successfully but I cannot do a 'place' search. I have one set up, it works perfectly when I pull it into ArcMap, but it does not work in the geocode service.

I have published it from my SDE connect as well as from a network location (not SDE) and I get the same result everytime: the full address search will work but the city/state search (Your Town, NY) does not (and it works perfectly in ArcMap!).

I'm a little confused but does anyone or more experienced geocoders have a solution or could tell me what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks,

Kevin

0 Kudos
4 Replies
MarkBockenhauer
Esri Regular Contributor

Kevin,

I will start by stating that I am not an expert in geocoders.

Just a guess, but I would check to see if the geocoders are all in the same coordinate system.

ArcMap is a bit more robust when it comes to coordinate systems than Online and that may explain the difference in behavior?

Mark

0 Kudos
AgathaWong
New Contributor III

Please also try to use the CityState locator by itself (not composite) and see if the locator works Online.

Agatha

Esri

0 Kudos
KevinLaughlin
New Contributor III

Mark,

They weren't. The composite was in Web Mercator and the single locators were in another (NAD 83 Ohio North).