Calculating building external wall from shapefile

Jump to solution
05-04-2016 10:36 AM
SaraNazli
New Contributor II

Hi GIS-people 😉

I'm a master student and new on this forum. I appreciate any help of yours.

I have two data set (attached):

• Shapefile of buildings containing the height of each building as well.
  • A parcel shape file. Several buildings are assigned to a single parcel.

I am interested in calculating the sum of the surface of external walls of buildings (m2) in each parcel. In other words, I want to know how square meters (m2) of external walls I have in each parcel. However, it is important for me to exclude those walls which are in common in between of buildings. For instance, if two buildings with the heights of 10 m and 6 m are attached from one side, the goal would be to include 4 m of the 10 m external wall and exclude the 6 m which both walls are attached with each other.

I hope I was successful in describing the question. Thanks for your responses in advance.

Cheers,

Sara

0 Kudos
18 Replies
SaraNazli
New Contributor II

You Rock Dude!

Thank you very much

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

Sara, could you mark Xander's response Correct so that others know that the issue is resolved.

XanderBakker
Esri Esteemed Contributor

You are welcome. Good luck with the process.

0 Kudos
SaraNazli
New Contributor II

Dear Xander

I am still working on the process you proposed... The flow is great,

however, I just got a bit of lost on the way with joining tables which

changes the ID's and FID's every time... I appreciate your tips on the

following. I thought of simplifying the process by replacing the parcel

with blocks. Blocks are aggregated parcels, without those annoying lines in

between! Attached is the file and you'll see what I mean (

https://www.dropbox.com/s/zmtvxdfyqdqz57l/block.zip?dl=0). So everything

stays the same, just instead of calculating the external walls of the