batch merge of shape files

Jump to solution
06-15-2012 01:03 AM
MiikaMäkelä1
New Contributor
I have a situation where I have a master folder. Within it, I have subfolders A to n...

Each subfolder can have shapefiles filename_A to filename_n... (but not necessarily, so every folder needs to be checked)

I want to merge all the filename_A's, filename_B's... from each subfolder to new shapefiles.

filename_A_merge, filenameB_merge... and so on.

Any ideas?

Thanks!
0 Kudos
16 Replies
MiikaMäkelä1
New Contributor
the larger set of folders (over 2000) have a sequence that looks like: XXXXXX_xx_mtk.shp

[ATTACH=CONFIG]15275[/ATTACH]
0 Kudos
MarcinGasior
Occasional Contributor III
The folder names are completely independent to the file names. Unfortunately. Every subfolder within the master folder needs to be chchecked for the repeating file names.

Understood.
With this assumptions collecting a shapefiles list to merge have to be changed. I hope I'll provide revrited script tommorow.
0 Kudos
MarcinGasior
Here's a modified script - this time based on Python dictionary.
Few notes about the script:
- it's independent of subfolders name
- assumes that shapefiles to be merged have exactly the same name in each subfolder they exist
- one shapefile name don't need to exist in each subfolder
- assumes that ther're no other files in master folder except subfolders with shapefiles to merge
- works only for shapefiles in system folders (cannot be directly applied to esri geodatabase feature classes)