batch merge of shape files

Jump to solution
06-15-2012 01:03 AM
MiikaMäkelä1
New Contributor
I have a situation where I have a master folder. Within it, I have subfolders A to n...

Each subfolder can have shapefiles filename_A to filename_n... (but not necessarily, so every folder needs to be checked)

I want to merge all the filename_A's, filename_B's... from each subfolder to new shapefiles.

filename_A_merge, filenameB_merge... and so on.

Any ideas?

Thanks!
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
MarcinGasior
Occasional Contributor III
Here's a modified script - this time based on Python dictionary.
Few notes about the script:
- it's independent of subfolders name
- assumes that shapefiles to be merged have exactly the same name in each subfolder they exist
- one shapefile name don't need to exist in each subfolder
- assumes that ther're no other files in master folder except subfolders with shapefiles to merge
- works only for shapefiles in system folders (cannot be directly applied to esri geodatabase feature classes)