Why use ArcSDE?

11-19-2015 05:10 PM
NevinWilson1
New Contributor II

Hello All,

I am a novice in this area of the ArcGIS platform, and more generally with RDBMSs, but wanted to gather some information directly from the user community.

Why do we need to use ArcSDE as middleware to connect ArcGIS Desktop with an RDBMS?

More specifically, why can't we simply connect directly to the spatially-enabled versions of a RDBMS such as Oracle Spatial or the SQL Server equivalent without the use of ArcSDE? And then load and edit features directly in ArcGIS Desktop?

I would imagine that these types of RDBMSs would be able to manage multiuser editing environments, provide versioining control and user group access permissions - just like SDE.

With GeoMedia Desktop Professional, for example, connections can be made directly with SQL Server Spatial

Your responses would be very much appreciated!

Thanks

Nevin Wilson

Tags (2)
8 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

ArcSDE Technology is no longer standalone, so I assume you mean references to their integration in

Those links will allow you to search ArcSDE references within the appropriate help

amroqarrot
New Contributor III

This program now has become with new releases and does not need to Alntezil These programs are a way to link with each other

0 Kudos
AsrujitSengupta
Regular Contributor III

Few main reasons of using an SDE Geodatabase:

1. You can't edit data from a Database directly in ArcMap. It can be published as a Feature Service and then be edited, but not directly.

2. You cannot use SDE functionalities like Replication, Versioning, Multi-User editing, etc on data from a database. These are sde functionalities and can be used on data from an sde gdb only.

3. Features like Feature Dataset, Relationship Class, Raster data, etc are not available for a simple Database.

NevinWilson1
New Contributor II

Thanks for your response Asrujit.