Select to view content in your preferred language

Learning That Pops: StoryMaps Escape Room

09-01-2023 11:35 AM
Labels (1)
JenniferAcunto
Esri Regular Contributor
8 6 1,396

10/4 Edit: Looking for an example Escape Room StoryMap? Check out the one I put together for GIS Day 2023 available here

I feel into a GIS career in an extremely random way and most of my GIS skills are self-taught. While I found the blogs and tutorials helpful, for me the best way to learn the various tools was to just jump in and play. I would come up with some hairbrained challenge or idea and then strive to make it happen using the GIS tools and methodologies at my disposal. While the results themselves were silly and unpractical, the skills and knowledge I gained by creating them were not.  

I then took that idea to the next level, and adopted a strategy of ‘tricking people into GIS’ at the large government agency I worked at. I had an internal blog that taught GIS skills and concepts in nontraditional ways, such as a Choose Your Own Zombie Adventure. Now that I’m at Esri I continue my ridiculousness. I have a reputation for turning in some well put together, but utterly absurd final projects in our internal training courses.   

My number one recommendation for learning GIS tools is to get in there and play with them, but I have found that that concept can be hard for folks to grasp. The lack of direction can be hard for some, and others may struggle thinking about these tools in an unconventional manner. In this blog series, I am going to outline some of my favorite learning projects. Use these to inspire your own learning or teaching adventures.  

StoryMap Escape Room 

Way back when the “new” StoryMaps was a big change from StoryMaps Classic and I wanted a chance to learn how the new StoryMaps worked. I just needed a subject. 

I wonder if I can make a StoryMap escape room?