python api

03-21-2017 11:40 AM
CharlieWare
New Contributor II

What is the syntax for accessing data in a file geodatabase when using the new python api in a jupyter notebook?

0 Kudos
7 Replies
RebeccaStrauch__GISP
MVP Emeritus

I can't say that I really know, since I am new with the API and Jupyter notebooks too.  Most of what I have seen in the samples are referring more to Online and Portal as the resources, or FeatureClass. I haven't seen anything specifically mentioning fgdb.

With that said, look thru API Reference for the ArcGIS API for Python — arcgis 1.0.1 documentation    for the various syntax.  And maybe the arcgis.geoprocessing module — arcgis 1.0.1 documentation will give some hints on how to access.

You may need to login with your developer account to access.

tagging a couple other groups for more exposure.  https://community.esri.com/groups/arcgis-python-api?sr=search&searchId=5397394b-3dae-4747-b1a3-19e56...https://community.esri.com/community/developers/gis-developers/python?sr=search&searchId=c38d90ea-1a...

0 Kudos
RohitSingh2
Esri Contributor

The ArcGIS Python API doesn't yet let you work with File Geodatabase directly. It lets you add and publish fgdb to your Web GIS as hosted feature layers and has APIs for working with feature layers and visualizing them. We're working on adding support for reading File Geodatabases as pandas (spatial) dataframes but that's not there in the API yet.

Thanks,

Rohit

JoshuaBixby
MVP Esteemed Contributor

rsingh-esristaff‌, good news, what about updating file geodatabase data using the ArcGIS Python API?  Are any type of cursors, either for file system data or web GIS data, in our future too?

0 Kudos
Haider_Ali
Occasional Contributor

Is  reading file geodatabase support added in python api? My requirement  is to insert subset of records from fgdb to hosted feature layer is there any way to do this if fgdb is not supported yet?

0 Kudos
RohitSingh2
Esri Contributor