Need help in conversion CAD in GEodatabase

03-06-2014 03:48 AM
sumankumar
New Contributor
Hi,
I am new to GIS. i have a AutoCad file which needs to be converted in GeoDatabase. This CAD file dont have spatial reference.i tried converting this CAD file in geodatabase by "CAD to Geodatabase" tool.
I have few question
1. Any other way for conversion from CAD to Geodatabase
2. The Output are in annotation,point,Polyline,polygon,multipatch. my requirment needs data only in point,line,polygon. Any suggestion.
3. How to georeference the Converted Geodatabase to ESRI online basemaps

Thanks in advance.
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
4 Replies
michaelcollins1
Occasional Contributor III
Was the drawing created using a coordinate system? If so, you can assign the coordinate system in ArcCatalog using the General tab under properties, and edit the spatial reference.

If not, you'll have to georeference the drawing using the georeferencing tool. Type "georeferencing CAD datasets" into the help window, that will get you started.
0 Kudos
RobertBorchert
Frequent Contributor III
find some locations in your CAD drawing that can be located in the real world.  best case scenario would be sections.

Go to those sections in ArcGIS.  Add the DWG and use the georefrencing toolbar to georeference it to the sections

IF you don't know how to do that and are decent with CAD

In the CAD drawing create a POINT at a known 2 locations that you can find in the real world.  Section corners would be best.

Go to the Sections in ArcGIS and create those same points.  Export your sections and the points as shapefiles and import them into your CAD drawing.  Lock The sections and Point.  hint, import the sections as closed polylines and not has hatched polygons.

You want to lock them so they don't move.