How to delete SDE database that was already dropped in SQL Server

Jump to solution
06-23-2016 11:41 AM
GeorgeClark
New Contributor III

I am relatively new to the ArcGIS world but am experienced with SQL Server.  We are geo-enabling a database that already exists in SQL Server.  In preparation for deploying to Test and later to Production, I am writing a how to guide, to make all the steps consistently reproducible.  Before starting, I took a backup of the database.  After geo-enabling the database, I missed documenting a step in ArcCatalog.  Without thinking, I quickly dropped the database in SQL Server, and restored it from the backup, to simply start over.  Now, although the restored non-geo-enabled database is what I have in SQL Server, ArcCatalog still sees the database as geo-enabled.  In ArcCatalog, when I right-click on the database connection, the Enable Geodatabase option is disabled.

Corrective action so far.

Delete the connection in ArcCatalog and recreate it:  No help.

Delete the connection in ArcCatalog, then drop the database in SQL Server, then restore the database with the same name, then recreate the db connection:  No help.

Basically is seems that ArcCatalog now/still recognizes the database as a geo-enabled and registered database.  I do not want to change the name of the database.

How can I clean this one database out and start over?

GeodatabaseEnterprise GIS

0 Kudos
12 Replies
RexRobichaux2
Occasional Contributor II

Alternatively, if the sde login still exists, you could also first try just remapping the sde user (must be done after SQL Server database restore) using the following script in SQL Server Management Studio where db_name = the database name being restored:

use db_name

go

EXEC sp_change_users_login 'Update_One', 'sde', 'sde'

go

For more: Enable Enterprise Geodatabase—Help | ArcGIS for Desktop

0 Kudos
GeorgeClark
New Contributor III

Firstly, thanks to Asrujit and Rex for your assistance, I appreciate it.