ArcGIS 10.2 SDE Create a view of one feature based on another

10-10-2013 12:04 PM
NathanOgden
New Contributor III
I'm new to this so please bear with me.

I saw this cool feature new -> view in ArcCatalog when I right clicked on my database.  I immediately created a view with the sql statement select * from Temp.DBO.NTS_50k where NTS50K = '72E16' and it worked perfectly.

I got to thinking wouldn't it be great if I could create a view of one dataset based on its intersection with another.  That would sure save me a lot of time and not affect my original data.  Can anyone tell me how to create (or if it is possible to create) such a query to make a view where one dataset is a subset of features which intersect another feature found in a geodatabase.

I'm looking for parcels which intersect my county's boundary.  Similar to Select by Location if possible.

Layers Temp.DBO.Parcels, Temp.DBO.CountyBoundary
SQL Server 2012 Std
ArcGIS Server Enterprise 10.2
ArcCatalog 10.2
0 Kudos
10 Replies
VinceAngelo
Esri Esteemed Contributor
You could use a subselect in a SQL query, but it might get expensive, especially
if you need to aggregate the shapes to avoid polynomial expansion.

- V
0 Kudos
NathanOgden
New Contributor III
Please excuse my very basic understanding.

Not sure if expensive will impact me or not.  Usually under 10 users - VMware environment with lots of resources.

Is there a better way to accomplish the goal?
0 Kudos
NathanOgden
New Contributor III
Also, would you have a link to any documentation on creating a subset query?  Thanks in advance.
0 Kudos
VinceAngelo
Based on the "DBO" I'm assuming that you're using SQL-Server, but you haven't
specified what version is in use.  Your options change slightly with Geometry
implementation.
[Oops, never mind; I guess I mentally edit out anything
that looks like a signature]

There's more Google hits on "SQL" than any other topic (except "hot girls"), but a