Upload csv to workforce as assignments

10-18-2016 12:21 PM
RaulLeos
New Contributor II

Good day Craig, I currently working on a project that I am trying to implement workforce and I found on that there is a script to help on loading any existing assignments but what I would like to know since I have very little knowledge on python. Is there any tutorials how to run this assignment scripting for workforce.

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
13 Replies
Ystad1
by
New Contributor II

I thought I would make an attempt to answer your question. A few days ago I was in a similiar situation, we are trying to put together a Workforce project for a maintenance department. While Workforce is easy to get started with and create a project it quickly becomes more complicated if you want to do anything more that create assignments by clicking on the screen. I have used Python for various tasks before but would class myself as a beginner and when I have used it for geoprocessing tasks I have always written the code and then run it directly from the GUI (rather than the command line).

While the documentation is good for the Workforce scripts I get the impression it is aimed at people who are already exprienced in Python. 

I'll try to explain the steps I took to import assignments from a csv file, anyone with more experience or that spots a mistake feel free to comment!

1. Follow the instructions here: 

GitHub - Esri/workforce-scripts: A set of scripts to help administer Workforce projects. 

to download and install both Python and ArcREST. I installed using pip, if you haven't got this far then there is information available on the internet about how to download and install pip and python librarys using pip. 

2. Download the zip file including the Worforce scripts and unzip it somewhere on your computer

3. Create a Workforce project here: Workforce for ArcGIS. Add the names of the assignments you wish to include (Assignment Types) in you project and the mobile workers and dispatchers.