Question about WAB deployment.

01-26-2017 11:42 AM
AnNguyen3
New Contributor

Hi All, 

I am very new with WAB, I've tried to build some widgets for my web-app used WAB 2.0.

so here is my question:

Can an App (with some costumed Widgets), that’s built in WAB that referenced/connected to ArcGIS Portal A, be deployed on a server that references or connects to ArcGIS Portal B?

If can, please tell  me what step I need to do. 

Thanks, 

An  Nguyen 

0 Kudos
3 Replies
RebeccaStrauch__GISP
MVP Emeritus

I'm assuming since you are using custom widgets that you are using the developer edition of WAB.  In case you aren't aware, the current version is 2.3 (released Mid January 2007).

For announcements, a list of custom widgets and some tips on creating you own widgets, you may want to look at the /blogs/myAlaskaGIS/2016/03/09/web-appbuilder-developer-edition-customization-resource-list?sr=search...

Although I haven't tried this, my guess is you could probably do this as long as you created a AppID in the second Portal and then replace this in the proper WAB app file.  sorry, I am not near a computer to test this.  You would also need to make sure that the (same?) data resources are available.

AnNguyen3
New Contributor

Rebecca, 

Unless you have another way to deploy that  makes it work, but I've failed  many time trying it today. 

I am not sure what the reason, but here are my guesses

1. Based Map: if I am using the costumed maps created with ArcGIS Portal A for the WAB, then obviously these maps are going to be failed on loading when deploying the app at ArcGIS Portal B

2. API reference: most of API references (for customed Widets) are NOT recognized  under new environment.  we need to have a WAB package at production server to rerun/recompile the code, and make things work. Other than that, I don't know how it works

Please point me out if I am wrong. 

0 Kudos
RebeccaStrauch__GISP
MVP Emeritus