Need help with sorting values

Jump to solution
07-12-2019 01:38 PM
JessikaMcFarland
New Contributor

I am creating forms for a forestry study. We collect the diameters of trees in a plot, among other information. I use the repeat feature for collecting tree data. We sort the trees from largest to smallest to calculate the quadratic mean diameter of the 8 biggest trees. 

I am wondering if it's possible to view/sort the tree entries by largest-smallest diameter, in some sort of table, list, other form, etc besides navigating back to the form submission. Interns may see over 100 trees in a given plot, so navigating the entries by hand to figure out which are largest could be inefficient and tedious in a field setting. 

I'm pretty new to Survey123 so I would appreciate any recommendations. Thanks!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
IsmaelChivite
Esri Notable Contributor

Hi Jessika McFarland

I put together an XLSForm to illustrate how this could be done. I added a repeat in the survey to capture the diameter of the trees. The survey also includes a calculation that uses a custom JavaScript function to automatically calculate the RMS of the 8 largest diameters from the repeat.  When a survey includes a custom JS function, you must be logged in in Connect or in the Field App to be able to use it.  I hope it helps.

View solution in original post

9 Replies
LanceCole
MVP Regular Contributor

Jessika, 

To my knowledge, that would be beyond the current ability of Survey123.  Survey123 can perform basic functions such as Max, Min, Average, Sum on the all values in a repeat but currently does not have the ability to select or filter prior to performing these functions. That being said, do you need to perform this in the field?