Is ArcGIS Pro independent from Velocity/Enterprise?

Jump to solution
12-12-2021 03:32 AM
Barbara_Araujo
New Contributor III

Hello,

as an university student I have only worked with ArcMap and Pro. Recently I've been tasked with finding some big data solutions using GIS and have been having trouble understanding how this wider array of Esri products relate to each other.

More specifically, I am interested in the Track and Traceability tool. The requirements mention ArcGIS Pro (deployment) and either Online or Enterprise (hosting). I am new to the world of GIS and unfamiliar with these terms. After watching a number of videos, I was under the impression that Pro, Online and Enterprise were standalone entities, yet these requirements now led me to believe I need both Pro AND Online/Enterprise.

Can anyone please explain the relationship between these products? Is Pro some sort of base for all?

Thanks you in advance.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
JoshuaBixby
MVP Esteemed Contributor

Regarding your question:

The underlying question I would need answered is - Can I work with ArcGIS Enterprise without having an ArcGIS Pro license?

Absolutely yes, you can work with ArcGIS Enterprise and have no ArcGIS Pro license.  Although there are differences, ArcGIS Enterprise portal is like having an on-premises ArcGIS Online.  Just like ArcGIS Pro can work with ArcGIS Online, ArcGIS Pro can work with ArcGIS Enterprise; but just like you don't need an ArcGIS Pro licenses to login and use ArcGIS Online, you don't need an ArcGIS Pro license to login and use ArcGIS Enterprise.

Although you can use ArcGIS Enterprise without an ArcGIS Pro license, a lot of people like having the full functionality of a desktop client to work with their data that is in ArcGIS Enterprise.  ArcGIS Pro offers a lot of functionality for working with data that isn't available through ArcGIS Enterprise APIs.

View solution in original post

6 Replies
Barbara_Araujo
New Contributor III

Hello Dan,