Select to view content in your preferred language

Count of addresses within a dissemination block

Jump to solution
05-21-2020 12:09 PM
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

Hello all,

Newbie here. I have a table of addresses that I have geo-coded on a World Street Map. I've also included 2 StatsCan boundary files, Dissemination Subdivision and Dissemination Blocks. I am trying to use Graduated colours get a display based the count of addresses within a Dissemination Block. I've used a spatial join on Dissemination Subdivision and Join_Count for Primary symbology - Graduated Colors, and this seems to return reasonable results, but when I try the same methodology for the Block level, I get 0 for a Join_Count. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
DavidPike
MVP Frequent Contributor

Oh I had fun with this one...

My best guess is that the huge number of 0 join_count values in the dataset basically overmatches the small number of other join_counts, maybe a skip factor or something like that is hidden in there. Definitely something for esri to look into.

If you get rid of the 0 values either via deletion (select by attribute where "Join_Count" = 0 or with a  definition query "Join_Count" <> 0, then overlay that layer on top it should work as expected.

View solution in original post

23 Replies
DavidPike
MVP Frequent Contributor

can you provide some screenshots please

by Anonymous User
Not applicable

Please see below a spatial join on dissemination block using DAUID and First as the parameters. I've selected 1 block and I can see a Join_Count of 7:

Here is a screen shot for another, more heavily populated block with a Join_Count of 85:

So I am getting differing values, per block that look reasonable (need to figure out how to validate that), but I cannot seem to get the graduated colors to display it properly. When I try to a different value for Classes (e.g., 5) it snaps back to 1 class??

0 Kudos
DavidPike