Select to view content in your preferred language

Can I really not overwrite a web layer from Pro?

6 hours ago
sam_nyc
New Contributor

Hi, I'm new to ArcGIS Pro (using 3.2 Pro) and trying to understand the best workflow to update AGOL web maps through ArcGIS Pro.  Basically just testing what I can/can't do at this point.

This has been posted a few times, but with some conflicting responses.

After making a map, sharing it to AGOL, and then re-opening the web map from the portal in ArcGIS Pro, I tried adding a new shapefile to the map and then re-saving it (Share > Save Web Map > Save).  I get the error pop-up described in this post ("[web layer] already exist, please choose a different name..."), with a solution to go online, delete the old layer, and try again.  Same solution offered here.

But another thread on desktop / AGOL workflows linked to this part of the What's New in ArcGIS Pro 2.6.  The narrator can be seen adding a new layer to an existing web map and then saving it without the issue.

It would be great to be able to do what's in the 2.6 video, but I can't seem to replicate it in my later version.  Am I missing a step or is this not actually possible (anymore)?

I also found this post with a workaround, but it also says you can't make changes to symbology in the layer, but that same video above specifically says you can.

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Nick_Creedon
New Contributor III

You can overwrite Web Layers (Hosted Feature Layers) from pro. It sounds like you are trying to overwrite webmaps. I personally haven't tried that.

Sharing Layers to AGOL and hosting them to AGOL has proven to be a really good workflow for myself.