Bug? Unable to change Group ownership in UI

Jump to solution
03-31-2022 04:26 PM
Trippetoe
Occasional Contributor III

Hello.

I am an Administrator of our AGOL organization. Starting today (3/31/2022), I am unable to change ownership of a Group.  I've tried to change ownership of groups that i own and for groups that i do not own. I've selected other Admins within our Organization to be the new owner of the groups, but that doesn't work either. I've tried changing ownership for 'pre-existing' groups and for groups that i created today. None of it works.

To reproduce this behavior,

1. go to the 'overview' page of any AGOL Group
  2. Click the Change owner link
  3. Search for members (choose any name that comes up - maybe your AGOL Org admin)
  4. The 'Save' button is never enabled

Is this a bug? I read about some recent updates to Content transferring here, but that article states that Admins should be able to transfer ownership (assuming that "content" includes 'Groups').

Thank you.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Trippetoe

Esri tech support has confirmed that this is a bug, and they are working on a patch that they hope to have in place in the next few days

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
8 Replies
Trippetoe

Here's a nice twist that i just learned....   my admin account is able to transfer ownership via a python script. However, i cannot perform the same operation via the UI.  So it seems like an issue/bug specific to the UI?

0 Kudos
ChristopherCounsell
MVP Regular Contributor

Hi Trippetoe,

Is the group a shared update group? There are additional conditions around these groups that may need to be met.

Do other user accounts receive this error? Do you get it in a different browser?

https://doc.arcgis.com/en/arcgis-online/administer/manage-groups.htm#ESRI_SECTION1_A9F55C6B4E9C44889...

Is your subscription suspended? i.e. run out of credits or the end of year?

0 Kudos
Trippetoe

Hello.

Thanks for your questions: