Arcade 'When' statement and empty fields

02-18-2020 02:22 PM
JayHodny
Occasional Contributor III

Hi.  I am working with the January 22, 2020 FEMA data release for my area.  I am using the Flood Inquiry web map and app solution.  I am new to Arcade.  I am trying to create an expression using the 'When' function to provide some descriptive text in the web map and application pop-up.  All works well except when I have no value in a record in the ZONE_SUBTY field.  How do I have the text written in the pop-up for empty fields?  Below is the current Arcade expression.  The string in italics is the troublemaker.  Thanks in advance, Jay

var zonesubtype = $feature.ZONE_SUBTY;
When (zonesubtype == 'FLOODWAY','Floodway designation of AE',zonesubtype == '','AE - An area inundated by 1% annual chance flooding for which BFEs have been determined',zonesubtype == '0.2 PCT ANNUAL CHANCE FLOOD HAZARD','X - An area determined be 0.2% annual chance flood hazard',zonesubtype == 'AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARD','X - An area of minimal flood hazard','')

0 Kudos
4 Replies
XanderBakker
Esri Esteemed Contributor

Hi jhodny@Newark.de.us_CityOfNewarkDE ,

Perhaps this would work:

When (IsEmpty(zonesubtype), 'Specify what to return here...',
      zonesubtype == 'FLOODWAY','Floodway designation of AE',
      zonesubtype == '','AE - An area inundated by 1% annual chance flooding for which BFEs have been determined',
      zonesubtype == '0.2 PCT ANNUAL CHANCE FLOOD HAZARD','X - An area determined be 0.2% annual chance flood hazard',
      zonesubtype == 'AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARD','X - An area of minimal flood hazard',
      '')
0 Kudos
JayHodny

Hi Xander,

I was close, as I was trying to use the ‘IsEmpty” function before my initial GeoNet post. Here is what I am using now, but still no luck. The ‘AE’ text string is still not showing in the pop-up. Thank you for your help.