Select to view content in your preferred language

Random Textures on Multipatch Buildings

Jump to solution
09-23-2013 05:17 AM
KareenBröker
New Contributor
Hello,
I am using ESRI CityEngine 2012.1. I am new to ESRI CityEngine and I could use some help to apply a random texture, e.g. roof texture (Pantile_*.tga), to buildings imported from an ESRI Multipatch file.

I have found two similar threads on this forum
(http://forums.arcgis.com/threads/71808-Random-texture and http://forums.arcgis.com/threads/81351-Texture-random-and-depending-on),
but unfortunately I still cannot quiet figure it out: All the buildings get the same roof texture???

version "2012.1"  texPath = "assets/roofs/" const textureIndex = rint(rand(0, 2))  @StartRule Lot -->  cleanupGeometry(all, 0.1) Houses   Houses -->  alignScopeToAxes()  comp(f){    vertical: Facade |    aslant: Roof    }   Roof -->  alignScopeToGeometry(zUp, any, world.lowest)  setupProjection(0, scope.xy, 3, 3, 1)  projectUV(0)  texture ( texPath + "Pantile_" + textureIndex + ".tga" )

So I hope that someone can give me some additional tips.
Thank you!

Best regards,
Kareen
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
MatthiasBuehler1
Deactivated User
Hi,

I thought the scenario was a bit different, but that's ok .. 🙂

In your case, you need to do Shape > Separate Faces. This will 'explode' all polygons. You then need to select all shapes which belong to 1 building and Shape > Combine Faces again. Basically creating n new shapes from that 1 shape, where n = number of buildings.

So this can be done manually in CityEngine, but that's a pain.

Easier would be to pre-process the data and create 1 shape per building, maybe based on some building ID attibute, ok ?

This should solve your issue.

Matt

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
MatthiasBuehler1
Deactivated User
Hi,

maybe they all share the same 'seed' value. Check the shape's info tab in the Inspector.

or simple Shapes > Reset Seed.

let me know if this helps.