Python API can't connect to portal with windows authentication

09-03-2017 06:10 PM
simoxu
by MVP Regular Contributor
MVP Regular Contributor

Hi folks,

I am new to this API, I tried it with ArcGIS Online it works fine. But when I try to connect to our local ArcGIS portal, it doesn't work. Can anybody kindly point me to the right direction? I highly suspect that the problem is the API can't pick up my windows credentials which is required to login the portal.

More information:

Our portal is using IWA authentication, and this document for IWA points to not using a username or password:

It looks like there are some additional requirements for using IWA and the ArcGIS Python API:

"If your portal is configured to pick up your Windows credeintials using NTLM or Kerberos, you can omit passing in the username and password. The ArcGIS Python API is able to figure out when the GIS is using Windows authentication and picks the login credentials from the currently running process providing a seamless and secure login experience. Windows authentication only works on the Windows OS and requires pywin32 and kerberos-sspi python packages."

Please see the screen dump for details: (click to zoom in)

Tags (2)
14 Replies
RohitSingh2
Esri Contributor

Hello Simo,

I have come across a case when the portal was actually configured to use SAML. 

To rule that out, can you try the following:

• Log into your web GIS (ArcGIS Online organization or ArcGIS Enterprise) in the browser
  • Go to Content tab
  • Click '+ Add Item > An Application' menu
  • Add an application:
    • Type: Application
    • Title: Python
    • Tags: python
  • On the Item details page of this newly created application, navigate to Settings tab
  • Click the Registered Info button. It's towards the bottom of the page.
  • This will show an App ID. This is your client id and needs to be passed in as the client_id parameter when constructing a GIS object. You need this in your Python code to log in