Overwrite a hosted feature layer with new CSV

03-15-2021 11:39 AM
PaulMarano
New Contributor II

I'm new to the esri community and would like to know if there is a way to overwrite the data in a hosted feature layer while retaining the layer definition. The issue I am running into is after I execute the python script to overwrite the existing layer, all of custom layer definitions, such as "drawingInfo", "maxRecordCount", and "typeIdFieldID", are set back to the default.

As a workaround, I attempted to retrieve the layer definition by retrieving the 'properties' of the feature layer and then using 'manager.update_definition' to re-establish the custom definition but when I do that I get 'TypeError: Object of type PropertyMap is not JSON serializable'

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you

0 Kudos
5 Replies
MehdiPira1
Esri Contributor

@PaulMarano 

Is it possible to share your script?

0 Kudos
PaulMarano
New Contributor II

Yes....below is the code we are currently using the over write the feature layer:

--- Grab the properties of the point layer from the feature layer

gis = GIS("https://YOUR.arcgis.com",'USERNAME', 'PASSWORD')
search_results = gis.content.search('title: THE_LAYER_TITLE','Feature Layer')
item = search_results[0]
the_point_layer = item.layers[0]
the_properties = the_point_layer.properties

--- Over write the feature layer
from arcgis.features.managers import FeatureLayerCollectionManager
the_flc = FeatureLayerCollectionManager.fromitem(item)
the_flc.overwrite(THE_CVS_FILE)

--- Attempt to update the Feature Definition with the properties retrieved from the point layer prior to over writing the layer
the_point_layer.manager.update_definition({'properties': the_properties})

The code above produces the following error message:

'TypeError: Object of type PropertyMap is not JSON serializable'

0 Kudos
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

have a try with: 

the_point_layer.manager.update_definition({'properties': json.dumps( the_properties}))