MVP Emeritus
475 Replies
BarnabyRockwell
Regular Contributor

Will do.  Thanks! 

0 Kudos
TomWayson
Esri Contributor

Robert Scheitlin, GISP​ - would you mind if I ask why you prefer to share via forum/.zip file than via GitHub or other open source collaboration services?

RobertScheitlin__GISP
MVP Emeritus

Tom,

I have been building widgets for Many years now (Flex and now WAB) and I find that not all the audience I cater to has the desire or knowledge to use GitHub. I do have a couple of Github repos but I have only seen limited use from most people in the esri community (not everyone is a developer).

0 Kudos
TomWayson
Esri Contributor

Robert

I completely understand.

I read your response above that you weren't using GitHub, but I now see that you are and that what you really said is that you are not using Esri's repo for sharing.

It seems that widget authors could have the best of both worlds by publishing their source code to GitHub and then linking to the releases (.zip files) here on the forums. That way the minority of this audience that are developers, as well as other developers that are not on GeoNet, can help contribute to the code, and the portion of this audience that wants to just download the latest .zip file can continue to do that here. Seems like a win-win, but you would know better than I what the reality of that is. I can imagine that having to keep track of issues in two places could be a hassle.

I myself was totally ignorant to how much code was being passed around here on GeoNet until recently, and am coming from the other direction. I'm starting to try and give my GitHub projects a presence here on GeoNet in the hopes that a new audience will find them useful, and I sincerely appreciate the help that you have already been to me as I struggle to figure out how to do even the simplest things in GeoNet.

0 Kudos
RebeccaStrauch__GISP
MVP Emeritus