AnsweredAssumed Answered

Creating a customisable buffer around points in a feature layer - Javascript API

Question asked by rpudney on May 23, 2012
Latest reply on May 24, 2012 by DSwingley-esristaff
Hi,

I am sorry if this has been posted before - but I have searched the forums before posting and haven't come across anything so my apologies if there is a solution already. I am new to Javascript and am trying to put together a web page which enables me to do the following:

• Show layers from my ArcGIS Server

• Enable the user to draw a buffer around the point level feature layer I have in my map (and be able to determine the size of the buffer)

• Do a query on another polygon layer I have from my Server which intersects with the buffer and provides a sum of the values in a given field column

I am only interested at this stage in finding out how to do the second point and wondered if anyone could help me? I have copy/pasted the ArcGIS resources code for creating a buffer on a click event and inserted into my code below.

The steps I need to understand are:

- How do I make the script draw the buffer around my point layer (it is named asa variable 'Lyr_StrokeUnits') ?

- How do I make the script draw the buffers without the 'onClick' event and instead to draw the buffers dependent on a user input? (Ideally I want the user to be able to input the buffer radius value as they can now and then to be able to press a button to redraw the buffers for all points)

I would be very grateful for any help anyone could give me on this issue.

Kind regards,

Ross

The relevant code below:

function initFunctionality(map) {

//Identify proxy page to use if the toJson payload to the geometry service is greater than 2000 characters.
        //If this null or not available the buffer operation will not work.  Otherwise it will do a http post to the proxy.
        esri.config.defaults.io.proxyUrl = "/arcgisserver/apis/javascript/proxy/proxy.ashx";