Uploading a 3D building file in ArcGIS Online

Jump to solution
06-26-2018 08:29 AM
Jason_Huntowski_USAHuntowski
New Contributor II

Hello,

I am brand new to ArcGIS overall. I am currently using ArcGIS Online to create maps and scenes for a project I am working on. I am trying to upload a 3D building file, but cannot seem to figure out where to do this in ArcGIS Online. I have read a lot of articles and blog posts and it seems like I may need ArcGIS Pro to do this? Is this the case? Or is there a way to upload 3D buildings into ArcGIS Online directly?

The files I have the option to use include Cesium, OBJ, DSM, Orthophoto, Pointcloud and SLPK. They are all sample files of a particular area. They seem to be downloaded in ZIP format. I am not sure if the file needs to be downloaded locally to my machine or if the URL on the AWS site can be used and the upload can be picked up from there.

Sorry for the very basic question, I am new and still trying to get used to the community features. Thanks for any info!

Jason

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
KellyGerrow
Esri Frequent Contributor

Hi,

You can publish an SLPK directly to ArcGIS Online without ArcGIS Pro. This article has details on different ways of publishing scene layers.

https://www.esri.com/arcgis-blog/products/arcgis-online/3d-gis/how-to-publish-scene-layers-in-arcgis...

Also tagging, the famous Russell Roberts

-Kelly

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
KellyGerrow
Esri Frequent Contributor

Hi,

You can publish an SLPK directly to ArcGIS Online without ArcGIS Pro. This article has details on different ways of publishing scene layers.

https://www.esri.com/arcgis-blog/products/arcgis-online/3d-gis/how-to-publish-scene-layers-in-arcgis...

Also tagging, the famous Russell Roberts

-Kelly

0 Kudos
New Contributor II

Kelly,