How can I get the arcpy module to load in python 3.6?

08-07-2017 07:45 AM
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

import arcpy

Does not work in 3.6 python.  I really need to get it to work or it's new version.  Very new to Python.

It's odd, when I look at installed programs, it says I have 3.6 python.  Running Python in a command window says it's 3.6.

However, when I open IDLE, it says it's using Python 2.7.8. 

Bit out of my element.  I'm a VB/JScript programmer.

Thanks

13 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

You have to use the python distribution that comes with ArcMap (2.7.x) or ArcGIS Pro (3.5.x).

You can spend a whole load of time trying to patch a solution which is fine if you have more time than needs.  The differences between 3.5.x and 3.6 or 3.7 won't manifest themselves as important for ArcMap or ArcGIS Pro.

Pro installs an Anaconda distribution which has been tailored to esri specifications.

I keep a separate Anaconda distribution (installed separately) for pure python work for 3.6/3.7 and associated models.

I would recommend you uninstall all versions of python, then install arcmap and ArcGIS pro... they will handle everything.  You can then setup your favourite IDE to use either, but Spyder is sweet for working with Pro

by Anonymous User
Not applicable

I've ArcMap 10.3 and pro installed.  The python version is 3.6, as per 'Windows Programs and Features'

I'm a bit befuddled that if I just start a windows command window, launch python (says it's 3.6) and key in import arcpy, I get an error- ModuleNotFoundError: No module name 'arcpy'.

But if I launch IDLE, it says it's working in python 2.7.  And import arcpy works just fine.

You think reinstalling ArcMap and ArcPro will help?  That's kindof a pain.

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

because IDLE is arcmap's default, since it is installed in the proper path.

I would upgrade ArcMap to 10.5.1 and install ArcPro 2.0 if you have an adequate machine and the ability to do so