Select to view content in your preferred language

Enable geocoder / search in Shortlist

Jump to solution
12-29-2016 09:35 AM
MelissaPrindiville
Emerging Contributor

I'm working in the latest beta release of the shortlist storymap and would like to add a search box / geocoder to the map.  I'm sure this is doable but I'm not sure how.  I added by geocoding service to the config.js.  I'm not a developer and am not sure where to look next to to enable the functionality.  Similar to this 

-Melissa

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
MarkCooney
Frequent Contributor

Hi Melissa,

In the custom-scripts.js file, use this:

define(["dojo/topic", "esri/dijit/Search",], function(topic, Search) {
     /*
     * Custom Javascript to be executed while the application is initializing goes here
     */

// The application is ready
     topic.subscribe("tpl-ready", function(){
          /*
          * Custom Javascript to be executed when the application is ready goes here
          */
          var search = new Search({
               map: app.map
          }, "search");
          search.startup();
     });
});

-Mark

View solution in original post

8 Replies
MarkCooney
Frequent Contributor

Hi Melissa,

This is not currently built into the Shortlist app, but is something we look to add in the future.  

To add it yourself, Esri's JS API has a nice sample showing how it can be implemented here: Search basic | ArcGIS API for JavaScript 3.19 

-Mark

MelissaPrindiville
Emerging Contributor

Darn!  Yeah I saw this sample however I couldn't figure out how to get it to work.  I will have to try that again.

Thanks -Melissa

0 Kudos
MelissaPrindiville
Emerging Contributor

Hi Mark I was able to add the search widget however it doesn't appear to search anything.  I am seeing a defineAlreadyDefined error.  Do you have any clues on how I might fix this?

0 Kudos
MarkCooney
Frequent Contributor

Hi Melissa,

In the custom-scripts.js file, use this: