Select to view content in your preferred language

Hi, I'm a newbie attempting to build a fire service map book. What inputs are necessary?

10-30-2018 06:51 PM
BuckySwider
Frequent Contributor

Hi guys, a mapping newbie/volunteer fire officer here.  I'm attempting to create a fire run book using the "Fire Service Maps" add-on on ArcGIS PRO 2.2.  Some really basic stuff is stumping me already.

I did procure parcel outlines and Streets shapefiles from the county, but I don't know when/where to use them.  I'm going through the tasks and I'm at "Load data into SiteAddressPoint feature class".  Here's what it's giving me the option of doing: 

Instructions from task pane

I suppose I could just forge forward and try to see if the streets shapefile is able to be pulled in here, but I thought it'd be better if I asked first.  And when should I import the parcel outlines shapefile?

Sorry for the newb question.  (And I'm sure I'll have more to come!)

Thanks!  

0 Kudos
57 Replies
BuckySwider
Frequent Contributor

AAARRRGGGHHHH

I thought I had it.    

When selecting the shapefile as input fo the append, it gives me an error for a table mismatch or something like that.  Looks like I have to convert it to a feature class in a gdb first.  Back to my homework assignments!!!  

0 Kudos
BuckySwider
Frequent Contributor

To restate the obvious, yes, Mike, you were dead on .  Importing the feature class is (now I know this!) equivalent to importing the shapefile.  So all the way back to square 1 I went, almost- running feature-to-point and importing that feature class back to the SiteAddressPoint.  But think of everything I learned because of my mistaken assumptions!!!