Where can I go to find someone to review a lengthy python script

12-10-2014 08:34 PM
BrendaJameson
New Contributor II

I would like to rewrite a script that is executed in ArcMap as a standalone script. I was told it cannot be done as some of the commands are only available in ArcMap. I am fairly new to both languages and am at a loss as to where to go from here. I was hoping there was a place or person who does this kind of thing for a very nominal fee (I am on a very tight budget-my own personal expense, not a company's). I would not need it to be rewritten but pointers would help.I would like to send them the script and have them assess the effort and possibly give me a few pointers to get me going in the right direction.I am sorry if this is not the right forum. I just don't know where else to get the help.

To facilitate this as a discussion, perhaps the old python/GIS gurus could let us newbies know of the different forums out there and the purposes of each. Maybe there is a place where seasoned programmers are available to offer this kind of assistance.

Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
11 Replies
OwenEarley
Occasional Contributor III
I would like to rewrite a script that is executed in ArcMap as a standalone script. I was told it cannot be done as some of the commands are only available in ArcMap.

Do you intend on running the script as a standalone script on a machine that has ArcGIS installed? - if so this is possible as you can access ArcGIS functions via the arcpy package.

If you want to run the script outside of ArcGIS then there are likely issues - most notably ESRI licensing restrictions.

0 Kudos
NeilAyres
MVP Alum

"I was told it cannot be done as some of the commands are only available in ArcMap."

Just about everything is available through python / arcpy. So who is telling you this? Sure if you want to write customized interfaces, web stuff etc, then you need .Net, ArcObjects and all that.