Using Python to determine majority and update field?

Jump to solution
11-27-2018 01:57 PM
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

So this is my first post to the community AND i'm also new with python (i'm a Planner, not Developer), so i'm open to any helpful critiques and feedback. But here is my situation, first with the preface THEN the python bit:

I work for Transportation and we have federal reports based on few categories, but for clarity and simplicity's sake, I'll list one: Passing Zones.

Collecting Passing Zones is fairly straightforward using Collector, but the issue is that it just creates a linear collection that is not "reportable" being that it is not tied to our Route ID's (very concise explanation).

My current workaround is to take the layer from Collector and, through a mix of Vertices to Points and Locate Feature Along Route geoprocessing, attempt to allocate the Linear Collection to the proper Route ID's to make them "reportable".

However, since many of the sections obviously have intersections/ramps/parallel roadways, I end up with points that have different Route ID's in the standalone table under field "Match ID", even if I switch the parameters to a very close span. 

For illustration: (ObjectID: 1, Route MatchID: 4321024X000, Original Feature ID: 1693) 

The ObjectID indicates the Point created from vertices, MatchID indicates which route they were matched, and Feature ID is the linear feature that the points originated from.

So if I have 30 different Points (30 different ObjectID's) all with the same Original Feature ID ( i.e. 1693), majority of the MatchID's end up being the same with only a few outliers. I could change them individually if the dataset wasn't around 100,000 points for this years collection.

now Python:

In my very limited knowledge, I was using arcpy.da.SearchCursor to organize the table into a dictionary that is grouped by Original FeatureID.