Thousands Separator for Label Expression using Python

Jump to solution
10-20-2016 11:52 AM
ChrisDonohue__GISP
MVP Alum

How does one use Python to format a number label so it shows the thousands separator?  For example, I have a value of 12345 that I want to display (from the Shape.Area field of a File Geodatabase feature class) on the map as a label as 12,345.

I looked at these discussions, but can't seem to get it to work.

What is label expression for formatting a number to have thousands separator and decimals? 

python - Add 'decimal-mark' thousands separators to a number - Stack Overflow 

I guess I could slice the value and insert commas, but I was hoping to use something easier.

I'm using ArcGIS 10.2.1 (so Python 2.7.5).  I'm a beginner in Python, so there is a good chance I am just missing something basic in trying to do this.

Chris Donohue, GISP

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
DarrenWiens2
MVP Honored Contributor

Hmmm... this works for me (field type is Long):

def FindLabel ( [CLIENTNUM] ):
  return "{:,}".format(float([CLIENTNUM]))

View solution in original post

17 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

>>> "{:,}".format(1000000)
'1,000,000'

BrittneyWhite1
Esri Contributor

From Building label expressions: "Field values are automatically cast to text strings. Therefore, if you wish to use a numeric value in an arithmetic operation, or when making a comparison, you will need to cast it back to a numeric data type."

This could look something like:

"{:,}".format(float([Field_Name]) )

ChrisDonohue__GISP
MVP Alum

If I purely use a number in the format, it works correctly.  But now the catch, how do I substitute in SHAPE_Area so it labels based on that field that with comma separators instead of a hard-coded number?

Chris Donohue, GISP

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus