Script Zonal statistics percentiles, using Float rasters

Jump to solution
03-03-2016 09:43 AM
BrianPowell
New Contributor II

Branched from: Re: Script Zonal statistics percentiles, using Float rasters

Hello,

I'm trying to do the exact same thing for 25, 50, and 75 percentiles.  I have an integer DEM and a set of continuous polygons.  Here is the error I'm getting:

Traceback (most recent call last):

File "C:\Python27\ArcGIS10.3\Lib\percentiles.py", line 100, in <module>

pixval =  GetPixelValueForPercentile(dct_per, perc_dec)

File "C:\Python27\ArcGIS10.3\Lib\percentiles.py", line 10, in GetPixelValueForPercentile

return pix_val

UnboundLocalError: local variable 'pix_val' referenced before assignment

I am not a python programmer, any insight is most appreciated.  I've attached the script with the changes I made, which were only the list of percentiles (line 25) and the paths to my datasets.  Ideally, if it's possible, I would like to run this on a float raster instead of an integer raster.

Much thanks,

Brian

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
XanderBakker
Esri Esteemed Contributor

As Dan Patterson​ states, most likely you have a polygon with a hole in it. The Nonetype point indicates the start of an inner ring. To avoid this you could use the code posted here:

https://community.esri.com/thread/95403#555075

Instead of using ExtractByPolygon it uses ExtractByMask.

View solution in original post

12 Replies
XanderBakker

You're not using the latest script posted in this thread. Line 4 should read.

pix_val = sorted(dctper.keys())[0]

... but is missing in your script.

To run this on float raster data, would require a different approach. Only integer rasters have an attribute table and this is used in the script to determine the percentiles. However, one could implement a procedure that takes an float raster as input, converts it to integer (applying a multiplication factor to reduce the loss of precision) and apply the factor in the results too.