Problems understanding code aimed at turning layers on/off

06-26-2014 03:12 AM
ChristopherEarley
New Contributor II
Hi

I am still relatively new to Python and have trouble understanding lines/parts of certain scripts. I am interested in developing a tool that can turn certain layers off and would appreciate a little help understanding a script I found on another forum.

In the script shown below I can understand most sections apart from lines 5 and 6. I don't really get what the [0] stands for or is referring to, I do not know what the "*" is for, and more importantly I don't fully understand how these two lines interact with the rest of the script.

names = [x,y,z,etc]

mxd = arcpy.mapping.MapDocument("current")
df = arcpy.mapping.ListDataFrames(, mxd, "Layers")[0]
layers = arcpy.mapping.ListLayers(mxd, "*", df)

for layer in layers:
  if layer.name in names:
    layer.visible = False

arcpy.RefreshTOC()
arcpy.RefreshActiveView()

I would appreciate any guidance anyone can provide.

Regards,

Geord359
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
6 Replies
AnthonyGiles
Frequent Contributor
Chris,

ListDataFrames always returns a Python list object even if only one data frame is returned. In order to return a DataFrame object, an index value must be used on the list (e.g., df = arcpy.mapping.ListDataFrames(mxd)[0]

The [0] means return the first item in the array.

The * (wildcard) means return all layers, eg:

Wildcards are used on the name property and are not case sensitive. A wildcard string of "so*" will return a layer with the name Soils. Wildcards can be skipped in the scripting syntax simply by passing an empty string (""), an asterisk (*), or entering wildcard=None, or nothing at all if it is the last optional parameter in the syntax.

So essentially the code is creating an array of all the layer names in the data frame called "Layers". It then loops through each of these to see it the name matches one of those you wish to turn off.