Matplotlib Font Family Not Found

11-29-2017 01:02 PM
deleted-user-1_r2dgYuILKY
Occasional Contributor III

I have a script that makes charts. I've been running this script for many months across multiple computers on our network with different versions of Python with no trouble. Today I'm getting this error: 

UserWarning: findfont: Font family [u'Bitstream Vera Sans'] not found. Falling back to DejaVu Sans. 

This is screwing up my charts. I've tried deleting the matplotlib font cache file, and that hasn't helped. That's the only solution I've been able to find online. I haven't added any fonts or changed anything else on the system or in the script. I also did a disk cleanup and restart and it didn't help. This is happening on a Windows 7 machine running Python 2.7.8. 

0 Kudos
9 Replies

I'm having this issue again after upgrading to Server 10.5.1 and Python 2.7.13

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

A recent issue was reported on GitHub and may be related.  it is worth a read

https://github.com/matplotlib/matplotlib/issues/10201

I have a similar response with ArcGIS PRO

from matplotlib import font_manager

font_manager.findfont('Bitstream Vera Sans')

C:\ArcGISPro\bin\Python\envs\arcgispro-py3\lib\site-packages\matplotlib\font_manager.py:1328: UserWarning: findfont: Font family ['Bitstream Vera Sans'] not found. Falling back to DejaVu Sans
  (prop.get_family(), self.defaultFamily[fontext]))

Out[36]: 'C:\\ArcGISPro\\bin\\Python\\envs\\arcgispro-py3\\lib\\site-packages\\matplotlib\\mpl-data\\fonts\\ttf\\DejaVuSans.ttf'
0 Kudos

I think this might be a Python path problem somewhere. This script is run locally and it calls on a local Python module to make charts. The same module is called through GP tools on our ArcGIS Server, and those charts look fine. 

0 Kudos