Input parameter - ListRasters

Jump to solution
04-05-2018 09:53 AM
ChrissyWhite
New Contributor III

I am pretty new to python and have come across a problem that I am not understanding how to get around.

I am building a custom tool in ArcMap and it has an input form. On that form, one of the parameters is a multivalue list of rasters.

My python script is receiving that input parameter:

inRasterB = arcpy.GetParameterAsText(3).split(';')

without any problems. I get a perfect, comma-delimited list.

However, I need to loop through each of these individual rasters the user has provided. I originally had it setup with a ListRasters(inRasterB), but when I started getting results for every raster in my geodatabase, I realized that this isn't going to work because the list is being used as the wildcard, which obviously isn't going to match.

I tried changing my loop to iterate through the input directly:

#rasters = sorted(arcpy.ListRasters(inRasterB)) #original code
    #for raster in rasters: #original code
    for raster in inRasterB: #new code

But now, it isn't recognizing those inputs as a list of rasters, but rather just a list of files (and can't find them on the filesystem due to the way geodatabases contain the rasters).

So........any thoughts on how I can go about getting a specific list of rasters from the user and looping through those rasters, and only those rasters, rather than every raster in the directory/gdb?

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
JamesCrandall
MVP Frequent Contributor

Flip the search around and iterate the list of raster names and paths to evaluate, use os.path.basename to strip the raster name from the full path name.  Probably a much more elegant way to go about it.

#replicate a list of raster names
raslist = ['E:\blah\blah\mygdb.gdb\TDSDiff_y2013m288_y2013m12_111','E:\blah\blah\mygdb.gdb\TDSDiff_y2013m288_y2013m218_111','E:\blah\blah\mygdb.gdb\TDSDiff_y2040m218_y2013m218_111']