How to calculate maximum value of different columns integrated in if else statement?

01-05-2019 06:44 AM
VerenaSarwas
New Contributor

Hey guys,

hopefully you all started the new year well!

My problem is as follows (by the way I am new in programming with python in GIS):

There are 5 different slope-classes for my GIS analysis. The attribute table shows how many points per area belong to a certain slope-class (Example: Area 1: Slope 1 - 10 points, Slope 2 - 20 points, Slope 3 - 30 pints, Slope 4 - 10 points, Slope 5 - 0 points). In the table there are a hundred different areas, each row represents one area.

The goal is to determine a slope tendency for each area. The idea was to calculate the maximum of the different counted slope points for each area and then say that for example area 1 has a slope tendency of 3.

I tried to make an ifelse statement with integrated max function in the field calculator 

Pre-logic script code: 

def Ergebnis (!Join_Count_1!, !Join_Cou_2!, !Join_Cou_3!, !Join_Cou_4!, !Join_Cou_5):

if Join_Count_1 = max([!Join_Count_1!, !Join_Cou_2!, !Join_Cou_3!, !Join_Cou_4!, !Join_Cou_5!]):
return "1"

elif Join_Cou_2 = max([!Join_Count_1!, !Join_Cou_2!, !Join_Cou_3!, !Join_Cou_4!, !Join_Cou_5!]):
return "2"

elif Join_Cou_3 = max([!Join_Count_1!, !Join_Cou_2!, !Join_Cou_3!, !Join_Cou_4!, !Join_Cou_5!]):
return "3"

elif Join_Cou_4 = max([!Join_Count_1!, !Join_Cou_2!, !Join_Cou_3!, !Join_Cou_4!, !Join_Cou_5!]):
return "4"

elif Join_Cou_5 = max([!Join_Count_1!, !Join_Cou_2!, !Join_Cou_3!, !Join_Cou_4!, !Join_Cou_5!]):
return "5"

else
return "No Data"

Expression:

max([!Join_Count!, !Join_Cou_1!, !Join_Cou_2!, !Join_Cou_3!, !Join_Cou_4!])

When I am running the field calculator I always get a python syntax/parsing error. In a different version of this code I also got the indentation error in python.