Help with writing python code to stop a script if an external table isn't complete

Jump to solution
09-08-2021 11:23 AM
ABishop
MVP Regular Contributor

I am working in ArcGIS Pro 2.8.2.  I am not a professional programmer.  I have been writing python code for about a year and a majority of it comes from script I export and piece together using geoprocessing tools and models in ArcGIS Pro. I have written a series of scripts which run automatically at night to update our SDE and also dependent services which serve web maps/apps to the public.  The issue is that one of the data sources that assists with these updates is a .csv file created from a batch script that is ran from our CAMA system.  Sometimes this batch script doesn't work properly and the file doesn't have complete data which causes all of my scripts to generate files that aren't valid and then consequently, our web maps/apps fail the next day.

What can I add my python scripts to stop running if the source data is incomplete?  How would I go about doing this?  Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Amanda Bishop, GISP
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
JoeBorgione
MVP Emeritus

@ABishop   Exiting/quitting etc in python can be a little weird.  I don't get that message when I run the exit() method in Spyder, but I do in what you seem to be using, IDLE.  You may want to check the other options available to you in that link I posted earlier.

I just tried this in an idle window and don't get the prompt:

import sys
for i in range(0,10):
    if i == 5:
        sys.exit()
That should just about do it....

View solution in original post

27 Replies
MichaelVolz
Esteemed Contributor

What can you trap in the csv file to determine that the data is corrupt?  Do you always get all CAMA records and is it just that some fields are empty or would you only get a subset of expected records?